Union of the Comoros

President of the Union

Moroni, 13 August 2010

Decree No. 10-092/PR

Establishing the limits of the territorial sea of the Union of the Comoros

THE PRESIDENT OF THE UNION

CONSIDERING the Constitution of the Union of the Comoros of 23 December 2001,

CONSIDERING the Referendum Act of 23 December 2001 amending the Constitution of the Union of the Comoros, which was promulgated by Decree No. 09-066/PR of 23 May 2009,

CONSIDERING the Declaration on the African Union Border Programme and its implementation modalities * in its eleventh ordinary session held at Accra, Ghana, from 25 to 29 June 2007,

CONSIDERING Act No. 82-005 of 6 May 1982, concerning the delimitation of the maritime areas of the Federal Islamic Republic of the Comoros,

DECREES THAT

Article 1: The outer limit of the territorial sea of the Union of the Comoros is comprised of lines every point of which is at a distance of twelve (12) nautical miles from the nearest point of the archipelagic baseline as defined in article 2.

Article 2: The straight archipelagic baseline from which the breadth of the territorial sea is measured is an irregular polygon, whose vertices are defined by the geographical coordinates of the outermost points of the islands of Grand Comore, Mohéli, Anjouan, Mayotte and the following drying reefs:

^{*} Editor's note: Translated "as is". It appears that the French text was meant to refer to the endorsement by the Executive Council at its eleventh ordinary session held at Accra, Ghana, from 25 to 29 June 2007.

Points		Latitude" South	Longitude" East
A:	Mitsamiouli Beach, on North-West of Grand Comore	11°23'30"S	43°16'00"E
B:	Banc Vailheu South-West of Grand Comore	11°48'00"S	43°1'15"E
C:	South-West of Magnougni islet, Mohéli	12°23'54"S	43°38'15"E
D:	South-West of the reef South of Mayotte	13°03'00"S	45°03'40"E
E:	Southern point of Mayotte	13°04'24"S	45°08'46"E
F:	South-Eastern point of Mayotte	13°00'30"S	45°14'30"E
G:	Outer edge of reef east of Mayotte	12°51'00"S	45°17'30"E
H:	Pamadzi Island	12°46'40"S	45°18'00"E
I:	North-Eastern point of Mayotte	12°37'30"S	45°11'00"E
J:	North of Anjouan	12°04'00"S	44°28'30"E
K:	North-East of Grand Comore	11°22'00"S	43°23'00"E
L:	North of Grand Comore	11°21'36"S	43°20'00"E
M:	North of Grand Comore	11°22'12"S	43°17'00"E

Article 3: The baseline between two consecutive points is the straight line that joins them and that does not exceed one hundred (100) nautical miles.

Article 4: This decree shall be registered, published in the official gazette of the Union of the Comoros and communicated wherever necessary.

(Signed) Ahmed Abdallah Mohamed **Sambi** (Seal of Union of the Comoros)