page 1| Delimitation Treaties Infobase | accessed on 15/03/2002

Treaty between the Kingdom of the Netherlands and the Kingdom of Belgium on the Delimitation of the Territorial Sea, 18 december 1996

The Kingdom of the Netherlands

and

The Kingdom of Belgium

Desiring to establish the lateral boundary of the territorial sea between the Kingdom of Belgium and the Kingdom of the Netherlands.

Have agreed as follows:

Article 1

1. The boundary between the territorial sea of the Kingdom of Belgium and the territorial sea of the Kingdom of the Netherlands is formed by the great circles joining the following points, expressed in terms of their coordinates, in the sequence given below:

Point 1: 51E22'25" N; 03E21'52.5" E

Point 2: 51E22'46" N; 03E21'14" E

Point 3: 51E27'00" N; 03E17'47" E

Point 4: 51E29'05" N; 03E12'44" E

Point 5: 51E33'06" N; 03E04'53" E

- 2. The positions of the points in this article are defined by latitude and longitude on European Datum (1st Adjustment, 1950).
- 3. The dividing line defined in paragraph 1 has been drawn by way of illustration on the chart annexed to this Agreement.

Article 2

The boundary formed by the points listed in article 1 is based on the principle of equidistance from a maximal baseline, namely the low-water mark along the coast. The extension out to sea of the port of Zeebrugge in Belgium and the "Rassen" shallows off the coast of the Netherlands have been taken into account.

Article 3

This Agreement shall enter into force on the first day of the second month following the date on which the Contracting Parties notify each other in writing of the completion of the procedures required by their domestic legislation for the entry into force of this Agreement.

DOALOS/OLA - UNITED NATIONS

page 2| Delimitation Treaties Infobase | accessed on 15/03/2002

IN WITNESS WHEREOF the undersigned, being duly authorized thereto by their respective Governments, have signed the present Agreement.

DONE at Brussels on 18 December 1996 in duplicate in the French and Dutch languages, both texts being equally authoritative.

FOR THE KINGDOM OF THE NETHERLANDS:

[Signed]

H. A. F. M. O. VAN MIERLO

Minister for Foreign Affairs

FOR THE KINGDOM OF BELGIUM:

[Signed]

E. DERYCKE

Minister for Foreign Affairs