page 1| Delimitation Treaties Infobase | accessed on 14/03/2002

Convention between the Government of the French Republic and the Government of Mauritius on the delimitation of the French and Mauritian economic zones between the islands of Reunion and Mauritius

(2 April 1980)

The Government of the French Republic and the Government of Mauritius,

Desirous of strengthening the neighborly relations and the bonds of friendship between France and Mauritius,

Wishing to delimit the French economic zone and the Mauritian economic zone between Reunion and Mauritius,

Taking into consideration the work of the Third United Nations Conference on the Law of the Sea and the applicable principles of international law,

Considering that application of the equidistant method constitutes in this case an equitable system of delimitation and, Referring to the statements of findings signed at Port-Louis on May 17, 1979, by the representatives of both countries, Have agreed upon the following provisions:

Article 1

The line delimiting the economic zone of the French Republic and the economic zone of Mauritius between Reunion and Mauritius is the median line defined in Article 2.

Article 2

- 1. The line referred to in Article 1 is defined by points P1, P2, P3, P4, P5, P6, and P7, the coordinates of which are given in Annex I.
 - 2. Said line is drawn on the chart in Annex II.
 - 3. Annexes I and II are an integral part of this convention.

Article 3

This convention shall enter into force on its date of signature.

IN WITNESS whereof, the duly authorized representatives of both countries have signed this convention and affixed their seals thereto.

DONE at Paris, in duplicate, on April 2, 1980.

Annex I

1. Coordinates of the points mentioned in Article 2:

Designation of point	Latitude South	Longitude East
P1	18° 17' 11"	55° 30' 20"
P2	19° 00' 49"	55° 50' 45"
P3	20° 04' 57"	56° 17' 39"
P4	20° 35' 55"	56° 27' 44"
P5	21° 18' 19"	56° 50' 09"
P6	22° 00' 32"	57° 14' 40"
P7	23° 48' 05"	58° 14' 23"

DOALOS/OLA - UNITED NATIONS

page 2| Delimitation Treaties Infobase | accessed on 14/03/2002

- 2. These data are natural geographic (astronomic) coordinates.
- 3. The line segments connecting the aforementioned points are rhumb lines.

Annex II

(Hydrographic Chart)

Analysis

The France (Reunion) - Mauritius maritime boundary is depicted on the attached illustrative page-size map which is based on DMAHTC chart No. 702. An official map was attached to the treaty as Annex II. Measurements used in this study are based on charts and parameters different from those utilized by the Parties. Thus, any comparative measurements may differ slightly from those found in this study and on the attached table, in particular.

The boundary which, according to the treaty, separates the respective economic zones of the islands consists of seven turning and terminal points and runs in a northwesterly-southeasterly direction. The boundary runs between the similarly shaped and sized islands of Reunion and Mauritius and traverses relatively deep water (3300-5000 meters in depth) in the southwestern part of the Indian Ocean. In the northwest the boundary commences as a tripoint approximately 153 nautical miles seaward of Reunion, Mauritius and the island of Tromelin (an unassociated French island which is administered from Reunion).

The boundary comes nearest to Reunion and Mauritius at turning point 4 as the two islands are located approximately 95 nautical miles distant from each other at this point. The line continues to the southeast until reaching a point 200 nautical miles from each island (P7 on the map). The total length of the boundary is 364.8 nautical miles. The boundary is a median line since, as noted in the treaty, the two countries agreed that in this particular situation the equidistant method constituted "an equitable system of delimitation". The distance between boundary turning points and between the turning points and the nearest territories are listed in the attached table.